Introduction to the Provinces

The 9 Provinces of the country each has its own bio-diversity:

Eastern Cape: this is where one can surf the world’s biggest waves, ski down the only snow slopes in Africa, go on a ‘Big Seven’ safari, visit the birthplace of Nelson Mandela and bungee the highest bridge in the southern hemisphere.

Free State: “The Free State landscape gladdens my heart, no matter what my mood. When I am here, I feel that nothing can shut me in and that my thoughts can roam as far as the horizons”; as quoted by Former president Nelson Mandela.

Gauteng: the name means “At the Gold / Place of Gold” in Northern-Sotho / Zulu name “Egoli” meaning “Place of Gold”. Gauteng is the main international gateway to South Africa as most overseas visitors land at OR Tambo International Airport located in the Ekurhuleni Municipal Area.

KwaZulu-Natal: the Zulu Kingdom is a truly a Kingdom to behold. Washed by the warm Indian Ocean, it is home to Africa’s busiest port, the stunningly beautiful Drakensberg Mountains and the popular resorts of the renowned South and North Coasts. Also home to major Anglo-Boer War battle sites between 1899-1901.

Limpopo: also called the Great North; on the surface it is a broad boundless area offering ancient majestic baobabs trees guarding vast expanses of mountains and bushveld; a land of dramatic contrasts characterised by hot savannah plains and mist-clad mountains; a mosaic of superb scenic landscape; cicada symphonies heralding hot breathless afternoons; the call of the nightjar punctuating the cover of darkness and an abundance of wildlife species.

Mpumalanga: known as “The Sunshine Province” and is the Nguni word for “Place in the Sun” and “Place where the Sun Rises” in the local languages of SiSwati and Zulu. This is one of the smaller provinces but is home to some 3-million people, regarded as the “first” capital of southern Africa and a World Heritage Site. It is one of South Africa’s newest and fastest growing provinces created from the old Eastern Transvaal, but adding the surrounding overpopulated Bantustans of KaNgwane, KwaNdebele, and parts of Gazankulu, Lebowa and Bophuthatswana, shortly after the country’s first democratic elections in 1994.

North West: known as the “Heritage Province”, the North West is a rewarding holiday destination that offers exciting wildlife and adventure encounters as well as the opportunity to participate in a rich cultural and historical heritage. The region was formerly known as the Western Transvaal where several roads penetrate the seemingly endless plains of this region, providing travellers with the chance to explore a portion of southern Africa.

Northern Cape: the sheer size, clear skies, flamboyant sunsets, brilliant starry nights and incredible silence are powerfully intoxicating. The area known as Namaqualand is famous for its stupendous Wild Flower Region. During good years, after rain, the desert is transformed into a horizon-to-horizon carpet of colour. The region stretches from Groenriviermond in the south to the Orange River in the North.

 Western Cape: this is one of South Africa’s premier tourist attractions, and for good reason. It is home to the famous Table Mountain, vast winelands, magnificent beaches, world-class restaurants and cosmopolitan entertainment haunts. The Cape boasts exquisite scenery and a myriad of cultures and tourist treasures that are just waiting to be discovered.



Source: Information extracted from